Certified Private Wealth Professional (CPWP)


A Task Force chaired by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) and comprises representatives from Private Wealth Management Association (PWMA), the Hong Kong Institute of Bankers (HKIB) , Hong Kong Securities and Investment Institute (HKSI Institute) and Treasury Markets Association (TMA) developed the Enhanced Competency Framework (ECF) for private wealth management (PWM) practitioners to ensure individuals engaged in providing services to PWM customers have an enhanced level of competency in the technical and ethics and compliance areas.

Under the ECF, two competency-related modules, Module 1 on Technical, Industry and Product Knowledge and Module 2 on Ethics and Compliance, are developed to set the standard for PWM practitioners. The HKSI Institute has launched the examinations for Module 1.

Local Recognition

Relevant Practitioners will be certified by the PWMA as Certified Private Wealth Professional (CPWP), when they have successfully completed the programme and examination requirements under the ECF and have the prerequisite work experience.

CPWP holders with 3 years relevant industry experience may also apply for Ordinary Membership of the HKSI Institute.  Please refer to the HKSI Institute website for details of our membership requirements.

International Recognition

The CPWP Examinations have been recognised by the HKSI Institute and the Association of International Wealth Management (“AIWM”), an international professional organisation for wealth managers, portfolio managers, investment advisors, asset managers and trust and estate practitioners worldwide.

HKSI Institute members who completed the CPWP Module 1 and Module 2* Examinations on or before 31 December 2017 and have a minimum of 3 year work experience in either the wealth management or private banking industry will become eligible to be applied for the Certified International Wealth Manager designation (CIWM), jointly granted by the HKSI Institute and the AIWM, without the need to sit for any CIWM examinations.  Please click here for details of CIWM designation requirements.

* CPWP Module 2 Examination conducted by the HKIB.

Examination Schedule

Enrolment applications will be accepted around two months in advance. Please refer to the Exam Timetable for the available dates, time and enrolment deadlines.


CPWP holders with 3 years relevant industry experience may apply for Ordinary Membership of the HKSI Institute.

For details of the CPWP Module 1 Examination, please download the CPWP Module 1 Examination - Examination Handbook.

Please click here for more information of the CPWP Module 1 Refresher Course.